



In Memorium

As it has been a while since we have had a newsletter, I felt it only appropriate to pay our respects to those members both past and present that we have lost over the last two years, these include:

Mr Peter Richardson
Brennan Hill
Dave Vincent
Denzel Franklyn
John Kelly
Mike Brown

Our thoughts and best wishes go out to all the families concerned.

On Sunday the 20th February 2020 we held our Annual General Meeting.

Outgoing Captains Message



Neil Pardoe-Captain 2020 - 2022

Neil addressed the meeting by at first paying respect to those members both past and present that we have lost during his tenure.

He went on to say that it had been an honour to have served as Captain of Greenmeadow Golf club and something he will cherish for the rest of his life.

Neil took a moment, to pay tribute to Mr Peter Richardson whom we sadly lost in September 2021. Acknowledging Mr Richardson as the founding architect of Greenmeadow Golf Club. He also gave thanks to Carol, Roz, Julian, Sam and Nichola for their dedication and commitment in keeping the club going.

Neil made reference to some key points that in working with the committee and Greenmeadow GC Management had come about, these were:

- An increase in the handicap allowance for some of the board events from 13 to 18, to allow some juniors to enter these competitions;
- Installation of a defibrillator outside the pro shop and gave thanks to Sara Goode for facilitating it;
- Organising volunteers to help relocate and paint some of our boundary posts;
- Obtaining sponsorship for all 18 holes at last years charity day.

Neil went on to thank Mr Lynn Thomas (President) Mr Bernard Crane (Secretary) and Mr John Woods (Fixture and Handicap Secretary) for all the support offered and given during his time in Office

Neil closed his address by welcoming in our new Captain Mr Martyn Palfrey and wished him a rewarding and successful year as captain

Neil, we thank you for your commitment to the role and wish you all the best for the years to come.

Charity Update

2021 Saw another successful year in raising funds for the Clubs sponsored Charity Ty-Hafon.

The main fundraiser of the year was the Annual Charity day, held on the 18th July, which was well represented by teams of playing a 4 player bowmaker. All 18 holes were sponsored by local businesses and individuals. Raising an impressive £2230.

Other funds raised during the year came from:

- Presidents Day £200
- Personal Donations £275
 - Senior Section £95
- Ladies Section £102.50
- Charity bunker/Collection Boxes £301.50
 - Hallett's Section £90
 - Christmas Raffle £1100
 - Quiz Nights £71.50

A total of £4465.50 was raised and transferred to Ty Hafan over the year.

This added to all previous funds raised makes a grand total of £29,625 raised by the club for Ty-Hafon

Presentation Evening 2021

Competitions and their winners are listed below

Club Champion - Jon Holyfield



Ladies Club Champion - Danielle Cobley

Junior Club Champion - James Dury



Strokeplay Champion - Jon Holyfield

Summer Singles - Kyle West





Ladies Singles - Mel Kearns

Summer Doubles - Dave Powell & Phil Hathaway

Ladies Doubles - Mary McCarthy & Mel Kearns

Mixed Doubles - Dennis McCarthy & Mel Kearns



Generations Trophy - Thomas Clark & Ricky Jones

Badman Cup - Tom Gregson



Captains Day - Norman Jenkins

Captains Day (Juniors) - Dylan Jones





Presidents Day - Brett Samuel





Anniversary Cup - Mike Stuart

Anniversary Cup (Juniors) - **James Palfrey**





Tom & Kath Memorial - Chris Thomas

Tom & Kath Memorial (Juniors) - **James Dury**



Alan Miskelly Plate (Juniors) - **James Palfrey**

Colin Hill Cup - Wesley Davies



Italian Cup - Chris Field & Chris Stephens

Don Jenkins Trophy - Patrick Watkins

Don Jenkins Trophy (Juniors) - **Dylan Jones**

Xanadu Cup (Juniors) - James Dury

Captains Day Seniors
Nick Cox



Ladies Doubles
Jo Long & Mary McCarthy



Anniversary Cup Ladies
Jo Long





Captains Day Ladies
Lorraine Cormack



Presidents Day Runner-Up
Colin Nunnerly



Anniversary Cup Ladies Runner-Up Gill Webb

Don Jenkins Trophy (Ladies) Jan Davies



Gert Bradshaw Trophy
Winners
John Day & Leslie Mountjoy
(Presented by Mary McCarthy)



Gert Bradshaw Trophy
Runner-Up
Dennis McCarthy Mel Kearns
(Presented by Mary McCarthy)



Tom & Kath Memorial Ladies Helene Day

Monmouthshire Patton Cup Winners Greenmeadow



Your 2022-23 Captain



Martyn took over captaincy at the AGM from Neil Pardoe, and started by thanking Neil and the late Mr Peter Richardson for giving him the opportunity and honour to represent the club as Captain.

He thanked the committee, past captains and our members in providing their support and advice during his role as vice-captain.

Martyn named our new Ladies captain as Ceri-ann Davies, our new Seniors captain will be Dennis McCarthy, and Junior captain as James Drury.

He went on to add that he looked forward to working with our club president Mr Lyn Thomas and supporting him with the work he does in raising monies for the club charity Ty-Hafan.

Last but not least it was time to name his vice-captain for the year Mr Sean Palfrey.

Best wishes Martyn for the year ahead.

Your 2022-23 Ladies Captain



Your Ladies captain will be supported by her vice-captain Sara Goode.

All the best Ceri-Ann, and best wishes to our ladies section for the forthcoming year.

Dates for the Diary 2022					
April	Sat.	2	Captains Drive-in	Texas Scamble Teams of 4	
May	Sat.	21	Club Strokeplay	Ind.	Strokeplay
	Sun.	22		mu.	знокеріаў
	Sat.	28	Peter Richardson Trophy		
June	Sat.	11	Presidents Day	Ind.	Stableford
	Sat.	18	Memorial Trophy	Ind.	Strokeplay
	Sat.	25	Better Ball Open Day	4 ball Betterball	
July	Sun.	3	Charity Day		
	Sat.	9	Captains Day	Ind.	Stableford
	Sat.	23	Ladies Open Day		
	Sat.	30	Open Day	Ind.	Strokeplay
Aug	Sat.	13	Masters Rd 1	Ind.	Strokeplay
	Sat.	20	Masters Rd 2		
Sept.	Sun.	4	Finals Day		
	Sat.	10	Anniversary Cup	Ind.	Stableford